Subsection 1.—Dominion Public Lands.*

The public lands under the administration of the Dominion Government comprise: lands in the Northwest Territories, including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait and Bay; lands in Yukon Territory; National Parks (see pp. 19-22) and historic sites; Indian reserves (see p. 1061); Ordnance and Admiralty lands; and, in general, all lands held by the several departments of the Dominion Government for various purposes connected with Dominion administration. The lands and other natural resources lying within the boundaries of the Provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia, that had formerly been administered by the Dominon Government, were transferred in 1930 to the administration of the provinces concerned. (See p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book.)

The great bulk of the land areas under Dominion administration are those of Yukon and the Northwest Territories, amounting to about 936,680,000 acres or 42 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. In general the southern border of both Yukon and the Northwest Territories is 60° N. latitude. In Europe, Oslo, Stockholm, and Leningrad are near this line, and about three-fourths of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, all of Finland, and a large proportion of Russia are north of it. This northern part of the national domain is under the administration of the Lands, Parks, and Forests Branch of the Department of Mines and Resources. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

The Northwest Territories.—The government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner, and a Council of five members appointed by the Governor General in Council, with Ottawa as the seat of government. The Territories are subdivided for administrative purposes into the provisional Districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin, and Franklin. The District of Mackenzie is the most widely known and developed, trading posts and settlements being located all along the great stretch of inland waterways known as the Mackenzie System.

The administrative headquarters for the Mackenzie District is located at Fort Smith on the Slave River, immediately north of the Alberta-N.W.T. boundary. From this point there is uninterrupted navigation to the Arctic Ocean, a distance of 1,300 miles, and along the Arctic Coast as far east as King William Island. When navigation conditions are favourable, it is possible to effect inter-communication between the Western and Eastern Arctic through Bellot Strait which separates Boothia Peninsula, the most northerly tip of the mainland, from Somerset Island.

The Administration provides a medical and nursing service, assists the Anglican and Roman Catholic missions in providing educational and hospital facilities, and cares for the general welfare of the population of the Territories. The population of the Territories at the time of the 1931 Census was 9,723.

Areas totalling approximately 583,997 square miles, comprising many of the finest hunting grounds of the natives, have been set aside as preserves wherein only resident Indians, Eskimos, and half-breeds may hunt and trap game. Included in this area is the new Mackenzie Mountains Preserve, which takes in all the land between the Mackenzie River, the Yukon boundary, and the Peel River Preserve.

^{*} Prepared under the direction of R. A. Gibson, Director, Lands, Parks, and Forests Branch, Department of Mines and Resources, Ottawa.